Constantin Brancusi’s The Newborn

Image result for constantin brancusi the newborn

This sculpture is called The Newborn.  I think this is a replica of the original, which is bronze, but perhaps Mr. Brancusi made some copies.  I do not think he did, but I am far from an expert on art – of any kind!

A friend found a book called The Quiet Eye: A Way of Looking At Pictures by Sylvia Shaw Judson, a Quaker.  I thought it was a sweet picture, and was quite happy when I learned the artist was Romanian by birth.  Two of my followers are Romanian, and I am always happy to learn something new about their country.  My friend knows this, and suggested I put the sculpture on my blog.  She thought the sculpture resembled a “Babe in swaddling clothes,” and I like her interpretation of the sculpture best.  It is an inviting piece of artwork. 

Catch ya later!

The Mithril Guardian

Leave a Reply

